Welcome to the Thunderdome!

“Row, row, row your boat

Gently down the stream

Merrily, merrily, merrily

Life is but a DRAGON!

It’s really true though”

-Colette

Life at Dharmalaya has shifted gears recently. As new people arrive and integrate, I find that this fluid, intentional community has a life of its own. The hardest part for me to understand is why it feels so natural. Why do these people, who I just met, hold such a special place in my heart? Relationship building seems to occur at an incredibly accelerated rate here and, as a result, I am noticing certain personal attributes which hinder my ability to connect. In noticing these tendencies, I have found my ability to alter these tendencies and allow for development in an environment free of judgment—or at least free of care about judgment.

When Jensen arrived two weeks ago, I started to see the energy around Dharmalaya start to change. It was a little unsettling for me as I was finally starting to feel comfortable in my space here. I felt as if it would take me forever to accept the idea of so many people sharing this space I have come to call “home”. However, here I am, two weeks later and eight land-mates heavier and I couldn’t be happier about it. An incredible group of people have assembled here in northern Eugene, and I can already tell that great things are in store for us.

The first week has just finished and already participants and staff alike are experiencing profound changes through both spiritual practice and the penetrating energy exhibited by the individuals gathered here. I believe our intense Tuesday night journeying experience with Karuna was just the tip of the iceberg in regards to what kind of energy this amazing group is capable of generating.

With the orientation week finished, it is going to be interesting to see how the group dynamic adapts to a new environment. The transformations have already begun!

Leave a comment